Mike and Gina's Wedding Plan
A planning timeline of important dates, tasks, and events for our wedding.
January 2017
Picture
January 25 (Wednesday)  
Begin Planning Wedding

Timeline Image

Envision what we want for the wedding, the size, venue, etc.

February 2017
Picture
February 10 (Friday)  
Finalize Wedding Budget

Complete rough feature list and draw up budget.

Picture
February 18 (Saturday)  
Shop for Wedding Rings

Timeline Image

Picture
February 20 (Monday)  
Choose Wedding Officiant

Get referals from friends and decide who will officiate our wedding.

Picture
February 25 (Saturday)  
First Pass on Wedding Guest List

Decide who from our friends and family to invite.

Picture
February 25 (Saturday)  
Shop for Wedding Invitations
Picture
February 26 (Sunday)  
Shop for Wedding Photographer

Get referals from friends and check out internet lists.

March 2017
Picture
March 1 (Wednesday)  
Finalize Wedding Party Members
Picture
March 10 (Friday)  
Shop for Wedding Cake

Timeline Image

Check out local wedding bakeries and get samples.

Picture
March 12 (Sunday)  
Register For Gifts

Decide on a gift registry.

Picture
March 12 (Sunday)  
Finalize Wedding Venue

Come to a final decision on the wedding venue.

Picture
March 14 (Tuesday)  
Shop For Wedding Dress
Picture
March 15 (Wednesday)  
Shop for Florist

Timeline Image

Visit local top choices and see samples and get estimates.

Picture
March 15 (Wednesday)  
Shop for Groom and Groomsmen Formalwear

Timeline Image

Picture
March 16 (Thursday)  
Meet with Caterer to Sample Reciption Food Choices

The caterer will present tasty samples of the availabile options for our plated dinners.

Picture
March 16 (Thursday)  
Plan Reception Seating Chart

This will likely not be as easy as it sounds...

Picture
March 20 (Monday)  
Mail Wedding Invitations

Get the wedding invites out to our friends and family.

Picture
March 22 (Wednesday)  
Meet with Venue Coordinator

Meet with site coordinator to go over day of wedding ceremony and receiption options.

Picture
March 22 (Wednesday)  
Finalize Reciption Menu with Caterer

Timeline Image

Decide on what dinner options will be presented to our guests.

Picture
March 25 (Saturday)  
Book Makeup Artist for Bride

Make reservations and go in for a trial run.

Picture
March 26 (Sunday)  
Book Musician for Ceremony

Decide on type of music for ceremony and book musician(s).

April 2017
Picture
April 1 (Saturday)  
Begin Planning Honeymoon

Think about where we want to go and relax after everything is done!

Picture
April 4 (Tuesday)  
Meet with Photographer

Discuss picture packages, day of details, and special must-have pictures.

Picture
April 6 (Thursday)  
Book DJ for Reception

Finalize choice for music during the reception.

Picture
April 8 (Saturday)  
Finalize Order with Florist
Picture
April 9 (Sunday)  
Wedding Rehersal

Meet with wedding party, ceremony readers, immediate family, and the officiant at the venue to rehearse and iron out details.

Picture
April 12 (Wednesday)  
Shop for Wedding Venue

Timeline Image

Check out local wedding hosts and availability.

Picture
April 14 (Friday)  
Finalize Wedding Dress and Groom's Attire

Narrow down the choices.

Picture
April 20 (Thursday)  
Order Wedding Cake
Picture
April 25 (Tuesday)  
Plan for Rehersal Dinner
Picture
April 28 (Friday)  
Book Travel and Hotel for Honeymoon

Timeline Image

Finalize destination choice and book it.

Picture
April 28 (Friday)  
Purchase Gifts for Wedding Party Members.

Find something nice to say 'thank you' to our wonderful wedding party.

May 2017
Picture
May 1 (Monday)  
Apply for Marrage License

Can't forget this!

Picture
May 1 (Monday)  
Meet with Officiant

Discuss ceremony and wedding vows.

Picture
May 2 (Tuesday)  
Final Gown Fitting
Picture
May 4 (Thursday)  
Groom Haircut
Picture
May 5 (Friday)  
Call All Wedding Vendors and Confirm Arrangements
Picture
May 7 (Sunday)  
Bachelor and Bachelorette Parties

Yay, time for party!

Picture
May 9 (Tuesday)  
Pay Wedding Host
Picture
May 9 (Tuesday)  
Wedding Rehersal Dinner

A nice dinner with just the wedding party. Consider having photographer attend.

Picture
May 10 (Wednesday)  
Wedding Day!

Timeline Image

This is the big day! A detailed hour-by-hour timeline is here:

Picture
May 11 (Thursday)  
Return Rentals

Pre-arrange for someone to return tuxes to rental shop and have bride's dress cleaned.

Picture
May 11 (Thursday)  
Honeymoon

Timeline Image

Yay, finally off to relax!

June 2017
Picture
June 1 (Thursday)  
Send Thank-You Notes

Write and send thank-you notes to gift-bearing guests and friends/family that were especially helpful.



User Comments

Leave comments to discuss this timeline with the community.